Your Purpose Is Calling

Annagail Lynes, Life Coach

Is Your Mind On Peace?

You will keep him in perfect peace, Whose mind is stayed on You, Because he trusts in You. (Isaiah 26:3 NKJV)

I have decided
I’m gonna live like a believer
Turn my back on the deceiver
I’m gonna live what I believe

I have decided
Being good is just a fable
I just can’t ’cause I’m not able
I’m gonna leave it to the Lord

There’s a wealth of things that I profess
I said that I believed
But deep inside I never changed
I guess I’d been deceived

‘Cause a voice inside kept telling me
That I’d change by and by
But the spirit made it clear to me
That kind of life’s a lie

I have decided
I’m gonna live like a believer
Turn my back on the deceiver
I’m gonna live what I believe

I have decided
Being good is just a fable
I just can’t ’cause I’m not able
I’m gonna leave it to the Lord

So forget the game of being good
And your self-righteous pain
‘Cause the only good inside your heart
Is the good that Jesus brings

And when the world begins to see you change
Don’t expect them to applaud
Just keep your eyes on Him and tell yourself
I’ve become the work of God

I have decided
I’m gonna live like a believer
Turn my back on the deceiver
I’m gonna live what I believe

I have decided
Being good is just a fable
I just can’t ’cause I’m not able
I’m gonna leave it to the Lord

I have decided
I’m gonna live like a believer
Turn my back on the deceiver
I’m gonna live what I believe

I have decided
Being good is just a fable
I just can’t ’cause I’m not able
I’m gonna leave it to the Lord

I have decided
I’m gonna live like a believer
Turn my back on the deceiver
I’m gonna live what I believe

I have decided
Being good is just a fable
I just can’t ’cause I’m not able
I’m gonna leave it to the Lord

I have decided
I’m gonna live like a believer
Turn my back on the deceiver
I’m gonna live what I believe

I have decided

– Songwriters: Michael Card

This song speaks to me because for so long I was trying to do right, trying to live up to that impossible standard of God’s that seems to require me to be perfect.

Only God knows that I am only human. If God didn’t know that we couldn’t keep His standard, He wouldn’t have sent Jesus. He wouldn’t have made a way for us to get to Heaven not on our own efforts but by the efforts and blood of His only Begotten Son, Jesus.

I am not saying not to try to do right. I am just saying that the more we focus on not sinning, the more we will sin. Whatever we keep our minds focused on is the direction in which we will go.

Although we will still sin, the more we focus on good, the more good will happen in our lives.

If we focus on Jesus and what He did for us, we will find ourselves doing right, find ourselves effortlessly doing what is right without thinking about it.

Where we set our mind on is where we are going to go in life. This is why we are told in Philippians 4:8 to think on things that are lovely and of good report, and why Isaiah tells us to keep our minds on God because when we do, He will keep us in perfect peace.

Do you want peace or anxiety? Do you want to focus on sin or focus on the Savior? The choice is yours.

Leave a Reply

